Another FI Blogger

I have been into FI bloggers for a while now and decided to more formally join the community. 

Years ago I used to read Jacob at Early Retirement Extreme. Now I’m very much into Mr. and Mrs. ONL at Our Next Life and the Choose FI podcast. My spouse is slightly obsessed with Gwen at Fiery Millenials. He talks about her as if he knows her personally. E.g., “Have you seen Gwen’s latest net worth report!”

I’m not completely sold on the concept of early retirement but I do believe in buying your future self more options.  Even if my spouse and I retire at what is considered a normal retirement age, it can’t hurt to set ourselves up for a more financially abundant future. The worst that could happen is that in the end we have a fat* regular retirement instead of a comfortable early retirement.

I do not see any downsides to being more financially prepared. I know that some in the FI community worry about being overly frugal and sacrificing too much today for a tomorrow that is not promised. I am not worried about that for myself since I am just not a naturally frugal person. Thankfully, I am also not naturally flashy so it (mostly) balances out. I have a long way to go before anyone can accuse me of being too frugal.

Anyway, I plan to write about a lot of different personal finance topics on this blog. Some of it may have a more Black perspective since that viewpoint seems to be lacking in the FI world. 

I look forward to sharing my thoughts and continuing to learn from everyone in the FI community.

Stay tuned!

*based on the concept of Fat FI by fi180.

Leave a Reply

